Hard Boiled Cultures

January 6, 2009

Last post of the day, I promise. While I’m still working on Mortal Coil Revised layout and getting Murderland reviews out, Fred’s finished up #3 of my current Top Five projects.


(linked to the One Bad Egg page)

Basically, I told Fred about Simon Carryer’s method of developing culturally rich NPCs, he drafted out his take on applying it to the monolithic races in 4E, and I provided editorial guidance, proofreading, art direction for the cover (Polynesian dragonborn!), and some additional writing. It was a blast to do and makes me much more excited about the possibilities of 4E than I have ever been.

The product itself will be available this coming Monday (Jan 12) through IPR, RPGnow, and Paizo, but it’s actually available right now if you sign up with One Bad Egg’s bookshelf. I definitely think it’s worth checking out if you’ve played any 4E and are interested in making the core races more exciting and diverse. Who knows, I may do another project with the eggheads at some point, but only if we stumble across a topic as exciting to me as this one. No worries about me selling out to become a D&D freelancer 🙂

For now, I’m putting my nose back to the grindstone before Brennan and/or Mo skin me alive.

4 Responses to “Hard Boiled Cultures”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Sounds interessting.

    I would have like to have a glance at Simon’s method but the link is broken and google does not help for once.


  2. The link works for me, but maybe you have to be a member of Story Games?

  3. Anonymous Says:

    You are right. I have applied. Thanks for the help.


  4. […] Hard Boiled™ Cultures. Enjoy!UPDATE #2: Jonathan talks about his end of the experience here: http://thouandone.wordpress.com/2009/01/06/hard-boiled-cultures/Tags: d&d, one bad egg ( 2 comments — Leave a comment )jeff_preston2009-01-06 09:37 pm […]


Leave a Reply

