Mechaton Experiments 2

November 13, 2008

I discovered that one of the cool things about building mechs from the 3-in-one Creator mini-pods is that the free Lego Digital Designer software (downloadable from Lego) comes with bit filters for these sets. As such, I selected the “Mini Flyers” filter for the pod I’m building my mech army from and, boom, it just shows me those pieces. I easily built a digital version of my alpha mech and even tricked it out to be even cooler. During the process of building it digitally, I also was more deliberate and found a couple of subtle bit shifts that made the model sturdier.

lddscreenshot1

Check out my fearful asymmetry (this is the same model):

lddscreenshot2

Soon, I want to try making a series of digital mechs using the “Mini Construction” filter, to see if it’s worth it buying some of those pods to build an alternative army.

Leave a Reply

