Murderland: Design Contest (Deadline Oct 10th)

October 3, 2008

It’s about time for one of these.

1. Design a game that can be played in 60 minutes or less, including all prep & reading the rules (so make ’em relatively short, a few pages at most).
2. Here’s your theme: ravens (also known as crows, which come in ‘murders,’ hence the name).
3. Here’s your requirement: play can’t involve drawing or writing anything down, including marking off boxes, circling stuff, etc. No pens or pencils at the table.
4. I will play the three games I think look the best and pick a winner, so try not to require more than 5-6 players total.
5. The winner gets a $25 gift certificate to IPR or something in that vein, if IPR doesn’t excite them.
6. I’m not going to disqualify people for breaking the rules or not reading my mind; you’re just less likely to win.
7. Your game must contain the word ‘Murderland,’ somewhere in the title, such as “Murderland: Last Exits,” “Driving Through Murderland,” or “Chronicle of Extraordinary Locations: Murderland.”
8. Post or link to your game here.

Have at it!

UPDATE: So, on second thought, I’ve decided the titling requirement is a bit strict. As long as your game has ‘murder,’ ‘raven,’ or ‘crow’ in the title, I think you’re solid. So go ahead and write that game about the Raven Queen or whatever.

9 Responses to “Murderland: Design Contest (Deadline Oct 10th)”

  1. Willow Says:

    What’s the deadline?


  2. See the title of the post. I’m going to start reading them next weekend.

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    I’m so in. And forget your wussing out and loosening the restrictions, the title of my game will probably JUST be “Murderland.”

    I’ve been meaning to write the Mean Guns RPG for a while now.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0119642/

  4. Eric Says:

    So, did you have anything more specific in mind when you said “game” than… well, any sort of game at all? Like, some sort of RPG? Or would a card game or board game fly? You’ve been thinking about the latter a lot lately, so I’m not sure.


  5. Elizabeth: Any movie with Ice-T is bound to be brilliant.

    Eric: I’ll accept anything you consider a game. I intentionally did not specify the kind of game.


  6. So, can I break the rule about the October 10 deadline? I had decided to put this contest to the side, since I didn’t have enough time this week. But I have an idea that won’t let me go….

    (I’m mostly kidding.)

  7. Jonathan Walton Says:

    Seth: Breaking the deadline is cool, but if I don’t have it by the time I pick the finalists (the ones I’m going to play), there’s not much I can do in that regard. I’ll definitely still comment on it, though.

  8. Mo Says:

    Oh, I didn’t realize posting about it here was an actual rule…

    Ok then… here you go: Crow: a living poetry game.


Leave a Reply

