Usable Bits of Sorcerer

April 1, 2008

Just read Sorcerer all the way through for the first time. It’s good stuff, but I don’t think it quite does what I want for Sorcémon, unfortunately. So, dammit, now I have yet another hack to work on.

Binding, Punishing, and Banishing demons seem to be the kinds of tasks I can imagine sorcerer’s doing. Contacting and Summoning are pretty much out and Containing seems a bit weird. I like that Banishing is easier and less risky than Binding. That means the crew is likely to Banish most demons and only Bind those that it’s having great success against or really wants to control.

Humanity seems fine. I’ll have to read Sorcerer and Soul to decide what to do with it though, I think.

Combat doesn’t do quite what I need. I was thinking of something more task resolution-y, but this is a bit too much. Also the damage rules are not as straightforward as I would like and the demonic abilities that are useful in combat need to be be more general and unified.

The way previous rolls add on to subsequent rolls seems problematic for my SGBoston play group. Specifically, I can imagine Eric and Richard abusing the hell out of this rule, coming up with ridiculously elaborate plans. I guess there’s always a chance of failing some step along the way, but that doesn’t seem all that fun (failing, I mean, or having everyone else sit back while the elaborate plans roll out).

I think we have better tools for negative traits now, so Price, Desire, and Need could all stand to be reformatted in the style of TSOY Keys or Nobilis Restrictions.

Next up, mining Dogs in the Vineyard, TSOY, Spirit of the Century, and In a Wicked Age for usable bits. Hopefully, between those four I can hack together something like a complete game.

5 Responses to “Usable Bits of Sorcerer”

  1. Tommi Says:

    Given the Sorcerer resolution system, first rolling A and getting rollover to B and rollover of B to C and so on is not a smart tactic. It’s a mathematical thing. From A to B to C might be useful, but adding D makes A almost irrelevant (in most cases). The system is sufficiently random and a lot of the extra successes are lost in every roll.

  2. Jonathan Walton Says:

    That’s valuable to know. Thanks, Tommi.


  3. That was one of the problems with the dice system: I didn’t like the aesthetics of [picking out number of dice in mine beat dice of yours] thing, but also past a certain number of dice, the excess dice did very little, making things roughly a coin toss. Which is okay if you’re find with it being a coin toss.

  4. Fred Hicks Says:

    I may have done some of the SOTC-specific work for you, when I built a Fate implementation of Sorcerer in order to power a Dictionary of Mu game. Details here:

    http://oghmascurse.wikidot.com/

    You’ll want to start with the PDF linked on that page.

  5. Jonathan Walton Says:

    Dev: Yeah, that was my feeling too. That’s why I’m gravitating more towards Dogs.

    Fred: Looks awesome. I’m going go over this with a pen and circle all your bits of brilliance.


Leave a Reply

